Priorities

The things I get excited about now compared to what excited me about three months ago are very drastically different. Before, I was excited about staying in 5-star hotels and dining at the finest restaurants. I was beyond ecstatic to work out at a well-equipped gym. I loved having a fun night in with my girlfriends, drinking wine or having some great home cooked meals. I was excited to find bargain prices on cute clothes. I really enjoyed having reasons to dress up a bit, put on makeup, and do my hair.

Now, I am excited to have a place to sleep. I love finding new ways to live cheaply and simply. I’m beyond ecstatic if a room has heating/air conditioning, soap and water, a toilet, and a shower. Oh- and even better? HEATED WATER. I mean, yes, I appreciated all of these things back home since I’ve traveled before. However, whenever I travel I can feel my priorities shift. I am very conscious of it, and it’s a different type of indulgence – the indulgence of simply surviving. Day to day, living life as it comes, not knowing what tomorrow has in store and loving every second of it.

Tomaree Mountain
Tomaree Mountain
Leave a Reply

