Farm Life

Blogging again at last! I’ve been without wifi for the past few weeks here on a farm and have been indulging in life’s simplicities. I spent my days starting at 5:30AM as the sun rose, heading to the gym, then coming back and taking my time to feed all of the animals here on this farm. There are cows, calves, sheep, goats, turkeys, goats, geese, miniature ponies, guinea pigs, dozens of parrots, peacocks, two cats, and five wonderful dogs on these sixty acres. It probably took about an hour or more to finish all the feeding rituals, and then I would begin my work. The farmer I’m working for is building a petting zoo! I’ve installed pipelines, dug holes both manually and with the help of tractors (which I happily learned to drive and operate!), hooked up electricity lines between buildings, helped link electrical fence lines, constructed pony yards, and more! It has been quite the enjoyable experience, especially since I grew up on a small farm and found the work to be nostalgic and fun.

One of the things I truly love about manual work is seeing your efforts come to life. With each passing minute as sweat poured down my face in the hot sun, I would focus on the task I was doing. Intently, I worked with consistent strides and tried my boundaries. Heaving breaths and putting every muscle into what I was doing was always worth it when I looked up at what was accomplished. It’s far better than repetitive work! There’s always something to be done on a farm, and it’s hardly ever easy. Every job took strength, stamina, and mental focus. It’s similar to lifting in a lot of ways, which is probably why I enjoy it so much. Not to mention the adorable animals!

Alas, my time working is coming to a close. The farmer is going on holiday and doesn’t plan on having any more of the types of jobs I’ve been doing for at least a few months. So, off I go again. In about a week I plan to travel back to Sydney where I will make a decision of where to travel next! The plan? Let’s just say… it includes skydiving, scuba diving in the Great Barrier Reef, and much, much more.

tractor

One thought on “Farm Life

Leave a Reply

